Amitabh, Rekha win Idea Zee F awards

Superstar Amitabh Bachchan won the ‘Celebrity model of the year’ (male) award, while Rekha won the ‘fashionable film star’ (female) at the Idea Zee F awards that laud the Indian fashion gurus and honours excellence in Indian fashion.

The country’s glitterati from the glamorous world of fashion, entertainment and Bollywood dazzled at the grand finale of the Idea Zee F Awards in Mumbai. The awards recognize true style and fashion with 33 awards across 3 categories – industry awards, Idea people’s choice awards and the Hall of fame awards.

‘Outstanding contribution to fashion, Couture king’ went to Tarun Tahiliani , ‘Fashion Diva of the year’ award went to Katrina Kaif , ‘Men’s designer wear of the year, couture’ award was bagged by Rohit Bal .

Tarun Tahiliani won the ‘women’s wear designer of the year, couture’ award while Rohit Gandhi and Rahul Khanna walked away with ‘mens wear designer of the year, pret’ award.

‘Women’s wear designer of the year, prêt’ went to Manish Arora.

Hrithik Roshan walked away with ‘youth style icon in films’ award. ‘Costume designer of the year in films’ was Manish Malhotra .

‘Celebrity model of the year, female’ was given to Rani Mukherjee .

Shabana Azmi won the most ‘fashionable politician, female’ award.

‘Fashionable filmstar, male’ was John Abraham . ‘Designer for outstanding contribution’ was given to Manish Malhotra.

The award for ‘male model of the year, commercial assignment’ went to Upen Patel . The ‘female model of the year, commercial assignment’ went to Deepika Padukone.

‘The male model of the year ramp’ was Upen Patel while ‘female model of the year ramp’ was Nina Manuel. The award for ‘designer for promoting ‘Traditional Indian craft or technique’ went to William Bissell. The ‘fresh face of the year, male’ went to Rahul Choudhry.

‘The fresh face of the year, female’ was won by Deepika Padukone. The ‘Rahul Khosla award for debutant designer of the year’ was given to Paras and Shalini.

The show was hosted by Dia Mirza and was interspersed with performances by Tanushree Dutta , Udita Goswami and Koena Mitra .

Besides, there were fashion shows by Rajesh Pratap Singh, Tarun Tahiliani and Anna Singh.

Other performances were by choreographer Ganesh Hegde, Dino Morea , Onjolee Nair on Salsa addiction. Fardeen Khan danced to numbers from his latest film Pyare Mohan and ‘Shaadi No 1’.

The power packed advisory board of the Idea Zee F Awards comprised of 13 personalities from various streams of the industry including Tarun Tahiliani, Ritu Kumar, Rohit Bal, Asha Baxi, Piyush Pandey, Mehr Jessia Rampal, Lara Dutta, John Abraham, Manish Malhotra, B S Nagesh, Ashok Salian, Sheetal Malhar and Vinod Nair.

Ritu Kumar , the renowned fashion designer said, “Indian fashion is constantly moving into uncharted territories in the global fashion industry. Our craftsmanship and creativity is being recognised internationally and it is pertinent for the fashion fraternity to come together to recognise the achievers in this field. Through the Idea Zee F Awards the Indian fashion industry gets its well deserved appreciation.”

From celebrity presenters, Bollywood stars, designers, models, industry chiefs, music personalities and other movers and shakers to fashion shows, the Idea Zee F Awards had it all as it lived up to being the most glittering night in the Indian Fashion calender. However, the major attraction of the event Mr. Bachchan was not present along with Shabana Azmi and John Abraham.